Book Review: Slade House by David Mitchell

Holy crap! One of the scariest, most bone chilling books I have ever read. My constitution isn’t as strong as some, so I couldn’t read it in one sitting. The different points of view he uses in the story only add to the terror. I was reminded of a fairy tale (which he alludes to in the book) except that we usually just read of the triumph of Hansel and Gretel, not of the dismal fates of all the victims before. When I started the book I couldn’t remember why I had put it on hold, but the first chapter, with the clear voice of a neuro-atypical young man drew me in. I had no idea what to expect, and the horror of realization of what was happening washed over me in real time. ( It has been a long time since I read a book where I honestly didn’t know what would happen.

Leave a Reply

